Posted in Uncategorized

>My thoughts on modesty<

Modesty

There is so much controversy in the church about what’s modest and what’s not. Hair, clothing, makeup, piercings, etc is all  sensitive to the Christian Conservative’s beliefs. Whether you decide to wear tank tops or short sleeves, skirts or pants, long hair or short, or whatever the topic is, it all boils down to what’s right for YOU and you alone. God convicts us of different things at different times of our lives! Something that you might wholeheartedly do/have/say/wear right now, might change in the future.

Let’s also remember that modesty is not all outward.

modestydefinition

And while it’s equally important to have a humble spirit and a non-flashy personality, I’m going to be focusing on the outward perspective of modesty in this post. So, that being said, let’s go on with the post!

A friend of mine recently messaged me and told me that she noticed that in all my photos I was wearing skirts not shorts/pants. She asked if I could write a post about my beliefs of modesty.

So yes, I wear only skirts. When  I was around 9 my mom made the decision to make all of our jeans into denim skirts, and from then on we strived to find non-frumpy skirts at thrift stores and businesses like Cato. Back then I didn’t have a decision in what I wore, but since then I have adopted the conviction as my own. We also eliminated anything strapless, tight, short, big around the armpit, low around the chest, etc. And as you may have already guessed we applied these principles to swimsuits too! Instead of a one-piece, it turned into tankinis, then tankini tops and shorts, and as I got older it changed to rash guards and shorts/tennis skirts. The first summer I had to shop for a different swimsuit, was a little bit of a difficult one, and it only gets harder to shop the older you get! At a time when bikinis are in, (especially for teenage girls) its almost impossible to find covered bathing suits. But anyway, back to my conviction thing.

I first started adopting these things as my own when I was 12 and I realized how big of a deal God makes it for us girls and women to dress in a way that doesn’t draw attention to ourselves. He’s pretty adamant about it! Check these out:

1 Corinthians 6:19-20-“What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost [which is] in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?”

1 Timothy 2:9-“In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with braided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array”

1 Peter 3:3-4-“Whose adorning let it not be that outward [adorning] of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel”

1 Samuel 16:17-“But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for [the LORD seeth] not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.”

1 Corinthians 10:31-” Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.”

I feel like this  also sums it up pretty well.

modesty jessica rey

I feel that by wearing certain pieces of clothing, I could be drawing attention to parts of my body that shouldn’t be seen by anyone but my future husband. And for THAT reason, I don’t wear pants, low cut shirts/tank tops, etc.  I not only try to avoid thing that show skin, but also clothing that shows shape.

This is MY conviction, MY belief, and it’s what I think is best for ME. I don’t judge you for not wearing exactly what I wear or for believing everything I say. I don’t think I’m better than you, nor do I pay much attention t how differently we dress.

What are your thoughts?

Would you like to read more posts from me about dress, what I wear, modesty, etc? Thanks (as always) for the feedback, everyone!

~By His Grace,

Halee

Also, if you like posts on modesty check out My friend Kimberly’s blog!

IMG_8086

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

Leave a Reply

