Posted in Uncategorized

you’ll want to read this.

Books, movies, tv shows, celebrities, social media, etc.

Supernatural, Doctor Who, LOTR, Pirates Of The Carribean, Narnia, Stargate, Hamilton, Percy Jackson, Hunger Games, Harry Potter,  Grimm, Walking Dead, ShadowHunters, Twilight, Star Wars, Star Trek, Once Upon A Time, Sherlock, Teen Wolf, Game Of Thrones, Outlander, MARVEL, Gilmore Girls, Friends,  etc.

We. All. LOVE IT.

We eat, breath, sleep, crave, talk and think FANDOMS. And I’m not sure it’s a good thing.

Now, before all you fangirls and fanboys start to either:

a. cry and throw your computer across the room

b. tear apart the keyboard while you furiously type your special excuse OR

c. you just ignore me and go back to staring at Jamie from Outlander or dreaming about your life with The Doctor.

And I want you to listen to me, and I think you SHOULD listen to me. Want to know why? Because I have the authority to. I’M A FANGIRL. And, I was actually a fangirl before it was cool or popular to be a fangirl. So, I understand your ways. I know the ins and outs of being obsessed with fictional characters that will never and have never existed. Yeah I’m hip like you youngsters. (I will stop now.)

ANYWAY, just hear me out.

I pushed my chair away from my desk as I stared at what I had just seen. A Satanic star. What in the world?

What was I looking at and what site could I possibly be perusing to come across something evil as this? I was looking at Pinterest. And it was a photo from Supernatural.

DOES THIS CONCERN NO ONE BUT ME? 

qkhzktrq_400x400

I’m slightly bothered by the thought that young people, as young as 10, 0r 9, OR 8, have already begun to fill their minds with nothing but the world’s things.

While most of the fandoms listed above, I believe, are not pure, I will have to say this post IS NOT me harking on which fandoms I’m talking about. What I AM talking about is that when we say we’re in a fandom, we are thinking of nothing else. And, really, if we’re thinking about celebrities, our fictional crushes, when we’ll be able to log on Tumblr next, and other things that some people just get way too obsessed with, OUR MIND IS NOT FILLED WITH PURE, HOLY, UNDEFILED, LOVELY, NOBLE, TRUE AND OF-GOD THINGS!

It’s just not.

And, like I said, I speak from experience. I’ve had seasons of obsessions with LOTR, Narnia, Marvel, Doctor Who, Percy Jackson and Gilmore Girls. (Which I’m not so proud of.) And Narnia? Well, I was introduced to that magnificent series when I was around 6 or 7. SO, my point is, I think there’s NOTHING wrong with loving media. Especially when it’s actually Christ-honoring. BUT, when I start to have major problems with this is when people have little room for family, work, school, friends, working out, eating healthy and God. We’re too busy having day days long movie marathons and writing fan fic to invest in our sibling’s lives. THAT was me. I still shudder to think how much time I wasted of my life, how many hours gone, because I took an interest too far.

Me and my family (and friends) spent so much money buying me merch only to later have to give it away because I now realize it’s evil. And, we’re talking books/movies right now, but I also think about just how taken we’ve become with famous YouTubers. I’m NOT pointing fingers and I DON’T think there’s anything wrong with having role models, but I can guarantee you that’s not what we’re really thinking about.  youtube-logo-full_colorI just don’t really know what to say,  guys. I’m just concerned. When I was obsessed with Doctor Who, I remember I would let weeks go by without cracking open my Bible or coming to God in prayer. Because God wasn’t my focus. Whoa!  I know not everyone is like this. I know not everyone gets THIS deep, THIS fast, but even so, let’s take a good LONG look at our entertainment and our media and hold it up to Philipans 4:8. Which, I know is rough. Honestly, sometimes I feel like God’s convicting me of something new every day, but guys, it’s worth it! Any sacrifice we might make by not watching THAT movie, reading THAT book or following THAT person on Instagram is gain.

And to those of you who might’ve just recently left a fandom or are considering it:

I applaud you. I understand how hard it is. And while it may sound weird, I KNOW that these stories and charcters are a part of you. But we’re here, on this earth, for ONE reason. To glorify Him. You’re doing a great job! Every time you avoid that fandom’s post, I know it’s a struggle!

So, honestly, ya’ll, I just want to say a few final thoughts.

I guess this whole post really all boils down to this-in everything we do/say/think/watch/read/etc. we should do it all for Christ.

Consider some of these Scriptures:

1 John 2:15-17The Message (MSG)

15-17 Don’t love the world’s ways. Don’t love the world’s goods. Love of the world squeezes out love for the Father. Practically everything that goes on in the world—wanting your own way, wanting everything for yourself, wanting to appear important—has nothing to do with the Father. It just isolates you from him. The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity. 

Philippians 4:8-9The Message (MSG)

8-9 Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.

Romans 12:12-13The Message (MSG)

11-13 Don’t burn out; keep yourselves fueled and aflame. Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant. Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality.

Proverbs 4:23-27The Message (MSG)

23-27 Keep vigilant watch over your heart;
    that’s where life starts.
Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth;
    avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip.
Keep your eyes straight ahead;
    ignore all sideshow distractions.
Watch your step,
    and the road will stretch out smooth before you.
Look neither right nor left;
    leave evil in the dust.

Colossians 3:2New International Version (NIV)

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

Psalm 19:14New King James Version (NKJV)

14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Let these passages overtake your mind! Meditate and memorize them! Is God opening your eyes to anything He wants you to sacrifice?

Anyway, I hope everyone enjoyed this sort of frazzled, passionate side of my writing.

~By His Grace,

 Halee

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

One thought on “you’ll want to read this.

  1. Well I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t thought about this before. And it’s a tough subject to think about😂 My opinion is pretty close to yours. I think that enjoying books, TV shows, and movies can be a good thing, but keeping God first is priority. I’ve tried my hardest not to get too involved in anything that might use God’s name in vain or have any questionable content or moral ideas, but it. Is. Hard. Really hard. All I can say is I applaud you for having the courage to write about it. Philippians 4:13 is one of my favorite verses that I basically apply to all situations: “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” And this could come in handy as being fangirls is obviously harder than we first imagined. Thanks again for posting this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

