Posted in Uncategorized

Book Review: Courageous by Dina Sleiman

   BOOK REVIEW:

upnextinvaliantheartsWell. This was a “cover buy” I guess you could say. I think the cover is strange but it did look exciting. Honestly, though, it seemed like the whole book was just a round-up of crusader battles with some romance thrown in. And, I really don’t mean any ugliness to fans of this series or any offense to the hard, HARD work that the author spent writing this novel, but I just didn’t like it.

I felt the romance was kind of rushed at times, it was very slow, and I felt it was really repetitive.

Now, all the negatives aside, I thought the spiritual aspects to this book were very well thought out and very well written. Rosalind talking to all the girls she looked after always brought a smile to my face. It was certainly very sweet to read.

I don’t normally do this, but I thought I’d give a little list similar to what I’ve seen for the inappropriate/romantic content:

(Thoughts of wanting to kiss, slight kissing a few times, several mentions of prostitutes, a few men pursue her (in the wrong way), lots of mentions of cleavage and tight clothing on women, the words tramp and wench are used many times.)

Even though you could consider a lot of negatives in this book, I found it fit the time period of the book, and the phrases and all that weren’t overdone.

The characters were really interesting, especially Sapphira. I REALLY want a novella for her. Rosalind’s backstory was COOL! Well done on that one, Dina.

I don’t mean to detour you from reading it! Not at all. It’s just not a favorite of mine. It did intrigue me enough to want to pick up the first two though.

 

All in all, this was a relatively clean, Christian book that I thought lacked in plot twists, but was entertaining and passed the time.

 

~Halee

 

*Bethany House sent this book to me in exchange for an honest review.)

 

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

Leave a Reply

