Posted in book lists

My Favorite Non-Fiction Books For Growth

12reading

love reading….Ya’ll know that! And I love reading fiction! But sometimes my mind and spirit needs refreshment, encouragement and wisdom that only Godly role models can give. There’s a time and a place for both genres, but today I’ll be sharing my favorite non-fiction picks! Honestly, these are great for Christmas gifts for the girls/women in your life so maybe keep that in mind too. Well, you guys don’t want to hear me ramble, so here we go! I’ll order these books from shorter to longer, as I know some of you might not want a gigantic intimidating tome to conquer!!! Lol

  1. Girl Talk With God by Susie Shellenberger 

(161 pages) This is actually quite the tear-jerker. This little book packs a punch of interesting conversations with God like eating disorders, pop culture, dating and more. For a personal and feel-good read, check this one out! Amazon.

      2. Answering The Guy Questions by Leslie Ludy

(154 pages) Oh my goodness, guys. If you saw my copy you’d see all the pink sticky         notes popping out the sides of the pages, marking the endlessly amazing quotes        stuffed in           this one!! Leslie Ludy is a wonderful and biblical author, and I have yet to      find a fault in her writing. This book gets me excited for marriage, makes me want to pray for my brothers, dad and guys, and taught me a lot about biblical manhood. Check it out….Probably 14 and    older.  Amazon.

     3. Perfectly Unique by Annie F. Downs

(200 pages) While I’m not sure about her theological beliefs and I cannot account for her other books in the biblical sense, this book was so great! It was hilarious, convicting, and made me want to treat my self-esteem a bit better. Annie is honest, and will certainly make you laugh! Amazon.

     4.  Set-Apart Femininity by Leslie Ludy

(220 pages) Whoa! This is rough to read, it’ll convict! Leslie dives into culture, media, fashion, and biblical womanhood. I’m telling you, read this book, and you’ll never be the same!! Amazon.

    5. Guys Are Waffles, Girls Are Spaghetti by Chad Eastham 

(200 pages) Oh my goodness. Want to laugh? Want to get angry? Want to read a book in a day?? READ. THIS. BOOK. AGHHHHHH. I LOVED this. So funny, so insightful, so…..FUN. I recommend this for older teens as it does deal with mature issues….So this is certainly not for the 11 year old. ^_^ Amazon. That being said, it’s the PERFECT present for any teen, boy or girl.

    6. Girl Defined by Kristen Clark and Bethany Baird 

(226 pages) I was actually on the street/launch team for this lovely book when it released in the summertime. I was amazed at the honesty, thoughtful-ness and overall genuine-ity of these two sisters. The sub-title for this is God’s Radical Design for Beauty, Femininity and Identity. Yes, they deal with gender, sexuality, and yes, certainly some things that challenge and convict us all. Their (or rather, God’s) message is NOT popular, but it’s best. This is the most ideal gift for teen girls on this list. It encourages, it motivates, it’s a big deal! Amazon. Also, check out THIS post for my review on it.

    7. Growing Up Duggar by Jana, Jill, Jessa and Jinger Duggar. 

(231 pages) I am not near obsessed with the Duggar family as I was when this book came out 2 years ago, but it’s still very good, biblically sound, practical advice! It really is all about good relationships and I enjoyed how they executed that message in this book. I highly recommend it to any age girl! Amazon.

 

    8. Joyfully At Home by Jasmine Baucham (now Jasmine Holmes) 

(231 pages) Yes, this book was written by the author of my favorite pastor, Voddie Baucham. Nope, I didn’t fangirl when I found out about it. Not at all. Hahaha! Seriously though, I love this family! I love their beliefs (firmly grounded and built on nothing BUT Scripture) and I love their daughter’s talent in writing. She knows how to relate, how to make you laugh, and how to share ideas in a way that makes you want to implement them right away! I wish every young girl would read this, as I’m highly convinced it would change lives. Amazon. And Here’s my very old book review, but I’m not sure what good it’ll do! #bloggerregrets :D

     9. Chucking College by Melanie Ellison 

(250 pages) Well, I never said this list wouldn’t be controversial!!! Hahaha. You should check this one out, even if you think you’ll disagree with it. It’s changed my thinking, opened my eyes, inspired me to swim against the staus-quo of the after high school current. Amazon.

     10. Before You Meet Prince Charming by Sarah Mally 

(260 pages) I think this book kind of speaks for itself….Sarah tactfully deals with purity for any age, and any stage for girls. I believe  this message is a must-read, must-apply thing. I actually read this after a Bright Lights conference back in 2012 or 2013 and I also received the study guide (thanks, momma!) and I LOVED it. It’s exactly what I needed as a young (almost teenage) girl with raging hormones. Yep. I needed it! ^_^

       11. Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris 

Hmmmm…..I think ya’ll know what this is about! One thing I’m VERY passionate about is abolishing low teenage expectations. I HATE how teenagers get such a bad-rap, and we kids just accept it! Want to get inspired to change the world, get into politics, start a business, do better in school, become involved in your community or overall have a better and more fulfilling young adult life? Read. This. Book. NOW. Amazon.  And while you’re at is snag their Companion guide. P.S. If you were wondering, yes. They ARE related to Josh Harris, author of I Kissed Dating Goodbye.

      12. Dream To Destiny by Livy Jarmusch 

Whew, guys! This book was amazing! I was so inspired after reading this. It’s very short (actually 60 pages or so….Guess it should’ve gone higher up on this list. Whatever!) but it is filled with study questions, real-life examples and will encourage you to pursue your God-given talents, dreams and plans. Check out the e-book HERE.

 

 

One more thing I’d like to note, this list is ever growing because I’m reading new non-fiction daily! So, I’ll probably release another, brand new list of books in 2017!!!

 

Well, I hope your shopping carts are full and brains are spinning with new book and present ideas! I am tired. I shall go take a nap now. Bye!!!

 

By His Grace, 

Halee 

 

P.S. What are YOUR favorite non-fiction reads? Have you read any of these books? Let’s chat in the comments!

 

(blog post requested by @dear.abby.rose  on Instagram. Thanks! Keep those post recommendations coming!)

 

 

 

 

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

One thought on “My Favorite Non-Fiction Books For Growth

Leave a Reply

