Posted in book reviews

Redeeming Grace-Halee’s Bookshelf

smith_redeeminggrace_50percent-293x453

Redeeming Grace (Daughters Of The Promised Land series #3)

When famine visits Bethlehem, Boaz holds out hope for rain while his relative Elimelech moves his wife Naomi and their sons to Moab. For a while, it appears the Lord is blessing Elimelech’s family, and his sons marry two lovely Moabite women. But calamities strike, one after another, leaving Naomi alone in a foreign land with only her childless daughters-in-law for comfort. When news reaches Naomi that the famine in Bethlehem has lifted, only Ruth will hazard the journey to her mother-in-law’s homeland. Destitute and downhearted, Naomi resigns herself to a life of bitter poverty, but Ruth holds out hope for a better future. And Boaz may be the one God has chosen to provide it.

Combining meticulous research with her endless imagination, Jill Eileen Smith gorgeously renders one of the most beautiful stories in Scripture. Readers will adore this third installment of the inspiring Daughters of the Promised Land series.


Soooooo, this book. It seems to me like Biblical fiction is one of those genres that takes a few chapters to get into, then the story picks up and you’re swept away into the plot…..Except this book just never seemed to get better. I’m in no way trying to be ugly towards the HARD work the author put into this (or any book to get published) but I just didn’t get it. I thought it was somewhat interesting…But to be completely honest it just did not catch my attention and I had to force myself to read it in time for this review.

Now, this is not to say that all her books are boring, I personally did not care for it.

I was really wanting to spend my little reading time on a different book.

As for the biblical and historical aspect of the story, I think it was lined up well. It seemed well researched to me.

The last thing I want to touch on is the romance…..I didn’t care for it either. It felt strange to me. I can’t put my finger on it, but I thought it was forced and real at the same time….Not to mention the wedding night scene….Too much. :/

Overall this book was 2 stars-it was just okay. Would I recommend it…Eh, probably not….Would I discourage you from reading it? No, it was neutral.

*Thanks to Revell Publishing for providing a free copy in exchange for my honest review.*

~By His Grace,

Halee

 

Check out Jill Smith’s other two books in the series:

71thd8tnrml-_ac_ul320_sr208320_51iuttngncl-_ac_ul320_sr208320_smith_redeeminggrace_50percent-293x453

Jill Eileen Smith’s website:

http://www.jilleileensmith.com/books/redeeming-grace-ruths-story/

 

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

Leave a Reply

