Posted in book reviews, books, fantasy, christian fiction, favorite books,

Wings Of The Wind-Halee’s Bookshelf

51pcpikkhjl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Alanah, a Canaanite, is no stranger to fighting and survival. When her family is killed in battle with the Hebrews, she disguises herself and sneaks onto the battlefield to avenge her family. The one thing she never counted on was surviving.
Tobiah, a Hebrew warrior, is shocked to find an unconscious, wounded woman among the Canaanite casualties. Compelled to bring her to a Hebrew healer back at their camp, he is soon confronted with a truth he can’t ignore: the only way to protect this enemy is to marry her.
Unused to being weak and vulnerable, Alanah submits to the marriage—for now. As she comes to know and respect Tobiah and his people, however, she begins to second-guess her plans of escape. But when her past has painfully unanticipated consequences, the tentative peace she’s found with Tobiah, the Hebrews, and Yahweh is shaken to the core. Can Alanah’s fierce heart and strength withstand the ensuing threats to her life and all she’s come to love?


There’s a special thing about books that truly sets them apart from other forms of entertainment. They pull you in so effortlessly, cause you to grow a bond with the characters. You rejoice with them when they are successful and feel for them when they fall. But there’s a certain talent that Connilyn Cossette has that I cannot explain other than talent from God.

A good book takes you on a journey, and this one was stunning…Wings Of The Wind was like a beautiful painting, a creatively scripted song, and a perfectly plotted play all at once. Absolutely breathtaking!

Connilyn’s writing is like a precious piece of art, full of rich history, vivid battleground scenes, and fall-in-love worthy characters.

c9ytwamvwaaukmo

One aspect of the Out Of Egypt series that keeps surprising me, is with every book I read it makes me want to read the Bible more. It brings me wonder and awe to think that the God who parted the red sea, and tore down the walls of Jericho, is MY GOD….. I am reminded of that when I read the story of Kiya, in Counted With The Stars, Shira in Shadow Of The Storm, now with Alanah in Wings Of The Wind.

The other part of the plot I adore, is the touches of “Canaanite living + culture” she includes in the light of Yahweh’s grace. Canaan is portrayed as a sinful city, but also a lost city….Whereas some people know no other way of living. I was intrigued reading certain scenes….That you’ll just have to figure out when you read it! :-D

Lastly, I want to touch on the tremendous threads underlying in the story. Grace, mercy, amazing forgiveness, true love and unbelievable courage in the face of immense danger.

But who am I? my still heart cried out. I am an enemy to these people, to your people. 

No longer, said the Voice. I have brought you here for a purpose. I will go before you and behind. I will surround you, no matter where you go. 

The things that Alanah is faced with, not only challenge me to be brave in my life, but also motivate me to stand more courageously even when I am faced with a journey into the Valley Of The Shadow Of Death! (Psalm 23).

Now that this amazing series is concluded *insert tons of sobbing here*, I look back over my many amazing adventures (yes, I know they’re fictional, whatever) with the beautiful variety of cultures and I get excited about Conni’s next series!!!!! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35069181-a-light-on-the-hill?ac=1&from_search=true

These books make me fall more in love with MY Yahweh every day, which is why I’m so passionate about them.

GO READ THE OUT OF EGYPT SERIES!!!!

Happy reading,

Halee Westbrook

 

Connilyn’s Links:

Facebook

Her website

Twitter

Pinterest

Conni’s GoodReads Author Page

Author:

Jesus lover, beauty seeker, avid reader, passionate writer.

Leave a Reply

